Retro Returns with Alexa Chung 2019

Vintage style this winter

Hi guys!

I am in New York now! It is technically Spring but I’m still layering up and looking at heaps of snow outside my window. Winter Wonderland decides my style now. From what you know of me, layering up is not my thing! So, I decided to look into a Fall/Winter collection for today instead of a Spring/Summer one!

The fashion house Alexa Chung released its Fall/Winter Collection 2019 sometime ago. Famous for faded or pastel colours and minimal pop lines, its Fall/Winter Collection doesn’t disappoint its audience. This collection is a little different, it takes us back to the classic vintage era.

#1 Black is Back

After red and orange replacing black in multiple occasions and trends, this collection bring back black along with the other nostalgic sister colours mustard, emerald green, off-white and shades of grey. These colours celebrate the vintage fashion.

Screen Shot 2019-03-13 at 1.02.30 PM.png
Source: Alexa Chung

Why should you incorporate this trend? This trend is for those who are inclined to a bold unapologetic style. The colours make you look taller and thinner, the modern idea of looking “beautiful”.  Every complexion loves these colours and it is easy to style with them!

How to Style it as OOTD? The aim behind these colours in the collection is to showcase a strong presence. Wearing something subtle like accessories may not make the cut. Instead, the whole outfit can be modeled with these colours. Play with the colours and make sure that it shouts Vintage!

#2 Iconic Retro Prints

Floral prints are not common in Fall/Winter Collections and that is why Alexa Chung’s Fall/Winter Collection 2019 is unique. Apart from floral prints, the old-fashioned box prints and patterns make a comeback. Is it only me or does one of those outfits remind you of Clueless?!

Screen Shot 2019-03-13 at 1.01.28 PM.png
Source: Alexa Chung

Why should you incorporate this trend? If you look into thee outfits, then all of them will remind you of popular high school girls from the movies or the working women in the offices. As odd as it may sound, these outfits are connected to the word “popularity”. These outfits make you feel strong! Wing it girl!

How to Style it as OOTD? A tweed jacket as an outerwear is good. It can also be incorporated as tweed skirt or pants in your outfit. If you are not a fan of tweed or prints, then you can opt for patches of colours in a bold accessory like a scarf!

#3 Fashion Vs. Comfort Done Right

High neck tops, sleeves till your wrist and legs covered with cloth… Your dream comfort clothes this winter?! Alexa Chung does justice to us but with a twist of FASHION!

Screen Shot 2019-03-13 at 1.07.11 PM.png
Source: Alexa Chung

Why should you incorporate this trend? Is it just me or do you also feel cold when the temperature goes below 18 Degrees Celsius in your office/college? I love this trend personally because I prefer warmth to cold any day! I love it more because I don’t need to compromise fashion for comfort.

How to Style it as OOTD? As I mentioned earlier, I am not a big fan of layering up. If I wear a scarf, then I wouldn’t wear a jacket and if I wear a coat, then no stole. If I go for tweed styles, then I would wear a tweed overcoat and a tweed bottom – and to complete the outfit, I would choose a brown handbag. I would pair Alexa Chung outfits with bold accessories like a bold chain, big scarf or even perhaps leather boots. If you want to wear a belt, then go with a thin one, its still vintage fashion!!

Until next time,

L.R.

 

Author: L.R.@TheRink

Hey people! I am fashion blogger gliding through 20. For more about me, check the About Us page in my blog: THE RINK!!

One thought on “Retro Returns with Alexa Chung 2019”

Leave a comment